Trump Adds Six Countries to Travel Ban, Suspending Green Card Approvals for Nationals of Nigeria, Eritrea, Kyrgyzstan, and Myanmar Indefinitely

The Trump administration has expanded its “travel ban” to six countries, which would suspend the issuance of immigrant visas (green cards) to nationals of Nigeria, Eritrea,  Kyrgyzstan, and Myanmar. The ban starts on February 22, 2020 and does not affect green card applicants currently in the US.

Sudanese and Tanzanian nationals will no longer be allowed to apply for diversity immigrant visas, which are available through an annual lottery.

Also, applicants for visitor visas, student visas, and temporary work visas are not affected and will be issued visas if otherwise qualified.

Of the new nationalities facing visa restrictions, Nigerians account for the most immigration to the US.

According to US government statistics, the State Department issued 8,018 immigrant visas to Nigerians in the fiscal year 2018.

Visa applicants from any of the “banned countries” should consult a qualified immigration attorney for specific advice and direction on their case.

This information is provided as an educational service. Consult with an attorney for your specific circumstances.  For a comprehensive evaluation of your immigration options, you are invited to call me at 214-494-8033, complete my contact form, or visit my websites at and


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s